Whether you receive a paycheck for working at home or not, if you are a mom, you work-at-home. This is a site for info, tips and conversation for issues that affect moms and their families.
You heard right. In what has been referred to as one of the strongest pro-life bills in the country, Tennessee’s new bill that details the steps needed to kill a human child takes effect on Saturday, July 1, 2017
Senate Bill 1180 was signed on May 11, 2017 by Gov. Bill Haslam. You can read the bill here. Doubt me? Here are a couple of definitions per SB 1180.
"Abortion" means the use of any instrument, medicine, drug, or any other substance or device with intent to terminate the pregnancy of a woman known to be pregnant with intent other than to increase the probability of a live birth, to preserve the life or health of the child after live birth, or to remove a dead fetus.
"Pregnant" means the human female reproductive condition, of having a living unborn child within her body throughout the entire embryonic and fetal stages of the unborn child from fertilization to full gestation and childbirth.
"Unborn child" means an individual living member of the species, homo sapiens, throughout the entire embryonic and fetal stages of the unborn child from fertilization to full gestation and childbirth.
"Viable" and "viability" mean that stage of fetal development when the unborn child is capable of sustained survival outside of the womb, with or without medical assistance.
So according to SB 1180, an unborn child refers to a living member of the homo sapiens species ~human~ from beginning ~fertilization~ to birth. That would be a human child. So the question remains. Is a human child a person or property? Does the answer to that question depend on the location of the child? Does it depend on the skin pigmentation of the child? Does it depend on the gender of the child? Does it depend on the health of the child?
The new law states that “No person shall purposely perform or induce, or attempt to perform or induce, an abortion upon a pregnant woman when the unborn child is viable.” What follows in the bill are details of how one deems whether the unborn child is viable. A doctor must assess viability starting at 20 weeks and if the baby is past 24 weeks, the child is protected from being killed. What does this mean in plain English? That it is perfectly legal to kill a human child in Tennessee as long as this human child is younger than 20 weeks of gestational age. A doctor can decide to kill a child until he/she is 24 weeks if the doctor deems that the child is not viable. After 24 weeks, it is illegal to kill the child unless the mother’s life is in danger ~and who gets to decide this? The same doctor who is going to kill the child?~ Which makes the whole law null and void. But, alas, that is an article for another time. This bill is named The Tennessee Infants Protection Act. It doesn’t sound like its very effective protection for babies before 20 weeks to me. How about you? Anyone else find it ironic that this law goes into effect just a mere 4 days before our country celebrates it's independence?
"WE hold these Truths to be self-evident, that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness"
Without Life, there is no Liberty or Pursuit of Happiness.
A recent conversation bears out the truth that it is easier to spend other people's money.Governor Haslam is trying to push his
ObamaCare scheme to expand Medicaid down Tennesseans’ throats.On a page of citizens who are against this
scheme, a couple of individuals spoke up in favor of his scheme.Their “logic” is priceless and shows what we
are up against.
First was a lady who claimed that she is usually for
anything conservative, but we’ve got to pass Insure TN because our rural
hospitals are closing, so we “must” do something.The rural hospitals closing are the threat
that Haslam and his cohorts are using to cram this scheme thru the state
legislature.She claimed that her
husband was an administrator for one of said rural hospitals.She has a vested interest in the hospital not
closing because it would directly affect her livelihood.I can appreciate that.The problem is that Insure TN is really a
scheme to get more federal crack money ~taxpayer funds~ to flow into Tennessee
because of how ObamaCare has cut Medicare and Medicaid payments to the
states.When challenged with this
information that is spelled out in this Forbes article, this woman mysteriously
disappeared from the conversation.
Here is how the provider tax works– hospitals take money out of their right pocket in the form of a “tax” and send it to the state, it cycles through state government in order to look like state spending but it is returned to the hospital’s left pocket. Why do they do this? This “state spending” triggers additional federal taxpayer contributions, driving up spending in the program.
What does this mean for Tennessee? For every new dollar Tennessee collects as a “tax” on hospitals for Obamacare expansion, taxpayers will pay more than $5 to those same hospitals and an extra $8 to other medical providers.
This funding scheme means Tennessee hospitals will pay roughly $1.7 billion in new taxes over the next decade. But the expansion, made possible by these taxes, forces all federal taxpayers to kick in another $22.5 billion. This ultimately allows hospitals to collect up to $9.3 billion in new Medicaid expansion revenue.
This gimmick certainly isn’t new: Tennessee already receives a third of the “state share” of Medicaid spending from provider taxes and funds from local governments. But while this may seem like a clever budget gimmick, there’s only a slim chance that this scheme will survive much longer.
Next up was a gentleman who claimed to be a grad student
studying architecture who needed to have his tonsils removed and couldn’t
afford it.I’ll call him Mr. Smith ~not his real name.~He “needed” help.When I asked him why it was the
responsibility of taxpayers to pay his medical bills, he came back with the
typical class warfare response of “If you can afford it, sure you can pay my
medical bills.Just write me a check.”He also asked for a solution so I gave him
two.The first was the fact that
hospitals and doctors take monthly payments; and the second was that maybe he
should go down his block to his neighbors and ask them to help him with his
medical bills.He’s expecting me a total
stranger to help him, why not go to his friends for help?Needless to say, he “left” the conversation
~or at least didn’t comment anymore.~He
hung around because he was “liking” the next gentleman to foray into the
conversation.
Another gentleman soon jumped into the conversation.I’ll call him Mr. Green, although, again, that is not
his real name.He started out with
insults and name calling.He used the
typical big government do-gooder shtick of how we conservatives hate the poor,
the elderly and only care about unborn children.Mr. Green is of course compassionate because
of his good intentions.His quote was
“If just one child, can see a doctor instead of an emergency, ACA/Insure
Tennessee is worth it.If myself or some
rich guy has to pay an extra dollar, good.Consider it be the one good thing you’ve ever done.”
The problem is that ObamaCare and Insure TN isn’t going to require taxpayers to
just pay an extra dollar, but I digress.I suggested that Mr. Green could help Mr. Smith with his surgery that he
said he needed. He could simply message
him and get his address.Mr. Green tried
to tell me how many jobs Insure TN was going to create in Tennessee, all by
getting more federal crack ~taxpayer~ dollars.He also claimed that I didn’t have a better alternative.That’s really funny because I had already
suggested that he could help out Mr. Smith.
I asked Mr. Green if he thought that DC had a magic money
tree.Maybe the state of Tennessee has a
magic money tree.I asked him if he had
helped Mr. Smith get his surgery scheduled.Mr. Smith could put him down as the guarantor for his medical
bills.
Mr. Green responded that I needed to leave Mr. Smith
alone.He then proceeded to hurl insults
at me again.I pointed out that Mr.
Smith had inserted himself into this conversation with his claim that he needed
help with his medical bills.I was just
offering a solution to his needs.
Good intentions don’t trump the laws of economics.The hypocrisy of the big government
do-gooders is that they aren’t willing to spend their own money.They want to spend ours.
I had a friend that asked me whether I was going to vote for Lamar Alexander. If you look thru my previous articles, you’ll know that I campaigned for and supported Joe Carr during the primary. My response was that I am voting for Lamar for the same reason that I would have crawled over broken glass to vote for Romney. Even a weak Republican, like Romney was preferential to Obama.
I attended a meeting over the weekend with Senate candidate Danny Page ~Independent~ and Constitution Party candidate for governor, Shaun Crowell. I like Danny Page and agree with him on more than I do Lamar. After hearing him in person, he almost persuaded me to vote for him; however, his wife piped up in response to an answer by Charlotte Bergmann about why she was running as a Republican and not under the Constitution Party. First off, I resented the question to Ms. Bergmann as to why if she was a constitutionalist, she was running as a Republican instead of under the Constitution Party. I could understand the question if Ms. Bergmann was running as a Democrat, but Republican?!? Really?!? The implication was that the Republican Party doesn’t believe in the Constitution. Sir, if you read their platform, they are exactly in line with the Constitution. We believe in limited government and a strong national defense. The problem isn't with the Party; it is with some of those that call themselves Republicans. Ms. Bergmann explained that if you want to have influence in the direction that the government is going, you need to be a part of those that are making those decisions. Look at Ted Cruz. Do you really think that he would have gotten as much support and been able to educate as many citizens if he ran as an Independent or 3rd party? I have been saying that we need to take over the Republican Party from the inside ~like the leftists did with the Democrat Party. ~ I knew that even if Romney won in 2012, that we constitutional conservatives were still going to have our work cut out for us. One election isn't going to fix what is wrong in this country or in the ruling class of D.C. ~both Republican and Democrat~. We need to clean house from top to bottom. Danny Page’s wife then stood up and objected that Republicans were giving us crappy candidates and people were staying home because of it. Her tone was combative and accusing. My contention is that the time to have these fights is within the primary. Danny Page was not in the primary process because of an agreement that he had with Joe Carr. I can respect that, but don’t complain about the Republican candidate for Senate if you did not take part in the process.
The ironic thing was that not five minutes later when defending her support for Amendment 1, Mrs. Page actually used the term “baby steps” in the fight against abortion. She admitted that her goal is to completely get rid of abortion; ~she used the term abolitionist~ but that voting for Amendment 1 would be a baby step in the right direction. So she is for using baby steps to accomplish her goal with abortion ~which I totally agree with~ but not when it comes to baby steps to changing a political party. We have seen what can happen if you work within the Republican Party on the local level. We had a Republican county commissioner that was acting more like a Democrat than a Republican. He was called out on it in the local GOP steering committee meeting. It was a beautiful thing. The result? He changed his vote. That is how we change things.
What if Danny Page were to take enough votes from Lamar and got the Democrat senate candidate elected? Do you really think that sending a Democrat to the Senate is going to teach the GOP elite a lesson? Do you really think that retaining Harry Reid as Senate Majority leader would be a good thing or preferable over Mitch McConnell?
If you want to stop Obama and the Democrats YOU have to show up and vote on Election Day. Sitting home is how we got a 2nd term of Obama. If you want to change the direction of our country and stop Obama and the Democrats, you have to do more than show up on Election Day. It is bigger than one election. Showing up and voting is just the beginning of your civic responsibility.
This should be a simple task with such an "accomplished" Senator such as Lamar Alexander; except that it's not.
Let me help you out, Lamar, you voted to fund ObamaCare. I know, I know; you technically voted to not fund it, but before that you voted for cloture which meant that instead of the Democrats needing 60 votes to fund it, all they needed was a simple majority. So in reality, you voted to fund ObamaCare.
You voted for amnesty. Sure now, you are claiming that you are standing with Ted Cruz but again, your vote for amnesty shows us Tennesseans where you really stand on the issue. Once again, Lamar's actions don't back up his words. Lamar had a chance to actually vote against amnesty last Thursday, but Where was Lamar? Not on the Senate floor debating or voting against amnesty.
The truth is Lamar, I can't think of a single accomplishment of yours while being in DC. You may have started out as a conservative years ago, but whatever is in the water in DC, you've been infected with it.
Join me in voting for Joe Carr for US Senate. It's time to retire, Lamar. BTW, Joe Carr has been the architect of some of the toughest immigration laws as a Tennessee state legislator.
I saw Lamar Alexander's "No National School Board" ad again last night. Every time I hear/see it, I crack up. Lamar is using a phantom issue to deceive voters about his real views on education. It's just like his "I'm against ObamaCare because I voted against it" shtick. True he voted against funding it, but he voted for cloture which is what allowed it to be passed by a simple majority of Democrats. What is in the water in DC anyway? But I digress. This article is about education and Lamar.
Obama and the Democrats aren't trying to form a National School Board, Lamar. Are they trying to take over education? Yes. See Common Core. But that doesn't mean that Democrats are trying to form a National School Board as their strategy. They are too smart for that. They use more devious ways in which to do so. Again, see Common Core.
What Lamar isn't touting is his ideas in 1989 for cradle to college education ~starting at 3 months;~ year around school from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Where have you heard these ideas before?
Just in case you don't know who this is, it is Obama's current of Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan. And yes, Arne Duncan is a proponent of Common Core.
What is Lamar Alexander's stance on Common Core? With his misleading ad, he's implying that he's against Common Core.
How about we look at what he does. It is no secret that Tennessee governor, Bill Haslam is a big supporter of Common Core. It's an understatement to say that Jeb Bush is a supporter of Common Core. So who is it that Lamar is palling around with in March 2014? Why Jeb Bush and Governor Haslam, of course.
Good Try Lamar! The good news is that we do have a choice for US Senate. Joe Carr actually has a record for fighting against Common Core.
Join me in voting for Tennessee. Vote for Joe Carr in the Republican Primary for US Senate.
I just want to take this opportunity to Thank Lamar for voting for Amnesty thus encouraging the influx of illegal ~which is another word for criminal~ minors into Tennessee and our country. Tennessee has received 760 ~that we know of~ so far. All without even our governor knowing about it.
Just to show my appreciation, I will be voting for Joe Carr, not you in the Republican Primary.
Update:
Lamar is feeling the heat for his amnesty vote. He is now trying to talk tough on the 760 illegals kids that the feds have dumped in Tennessee without our knowledge.
Too little; too late, Lamar. Your vote for Amnesty showed your true colors. Tennessee voters will not be fooled.
P.S. Maybe if you would have stood with Tennessee voters and Ted Cruz before this week, you wouldn't be in such trouble.
Schools here in Memphis get started next week, August 4th. There will be lots of changes. After Memphis City Schools surrendered their charter in 2010 to force consolidation with the Shelby County Schools, the subject of education has been a sore spot here in Memphis. There has been a lot of angst, confusion and name-calling going on. The parents of the municipalities didn't take kindly to a forced takeover by the failed MCS, so they responded by creating school districts of their own. Next week will be the kickoff for the new schools. I wish them well. The parents in the municipalities showed what can happen when citizens get involved with self-governance. Kudos to them.
So all will be hunky dory right? Not so fast. The municipal schools will still be dealing with Common Core, but that is a subject for another post. No, what I am referring to are all of the illegal "unaccompanied" minors that will be joining our kids in school.
American kids and teenagers will be sharing their already-crowded classrooms with tens of thousands of ill-educated Central American migrants this fall, because President Obama is distributing perhaps 100,000 Central American migrants across the country.
The arrival of the American students’ new classmates was highlighted July 25 when Obama’s agencies announced he had already distributed 30,340 foreign youths and children by July 7.
Virginia received 2,234 foreign students and Maryland got 2,205, according to the announcement from the Department of Health and Human Services. Texas got 4,280 foreign students, North Carolina got 1,191, and New Jersey got 1,504, said the government statement. ~My note: Tennessee got 760~
Those numbers may double by October, however.
More than 50,000 Central American children and youths have crossed the border since October with the aid of smugglers, usually working under a contract with their parents. More that 90 percent say they are teenagers, and more than 95 percent are being released by Obama to their U.S.-based parents or relatives, many of whom are illegal immigrants.
Another 50,000 Central Americans have crossed in so-called “family units,” of at least one parent and child. A few of those are being repatriated, some are being held in government facilities, but many have been bussed or flown to cities where they want to live, despite widespread protests from worried Americans.
More migrants are expected to cross before winter sets in, and next’s year’s inflow is expected to be much larger than this year’s flood, unless the federal government sharply changes its immigration enforcement policies.
Roughly 30,000 Central Americans children and youths arrived from 2012 to September 2013. Most of them are enrolled in U.S. schools, including some who are believed to be over 18.
Not only are these kids not literate in English ~how can they be expected to be?~ they aren't even literate in Spanish.
Another concern that we as parents should have is all the infectious diseases that these kids are bringing with them. There's tuberculosis, scabies, chicken pox, pneumonia, H1N1 just to name some of them. I have a daughter whose immune system is compromised because she is on anti-rejection drugs for her transplant.
Chicken pox is the least of my worries as a parent. Without getting into the whole vaccine debate, ~even if vaccines are as effective as claimed~ it is a fact that vaccines don't give 100% protection. Here is the link for the vaccines that are required by Shelby County Schools for school registration? Vaccines for TB, scabies and H1N1 are not on the list.
How about all the MS-13 gang members that are coming across? Did you know that the vast majority ~84%~ of these "children" are teens?
Even if you believe that the compassionate thing to do is educate these youth, what is it going to do to our schools already stretched budgets?
“We certainly don’t want to communicate that our city is not a welcoming place, especially for young children, but we have to be concerned about our finances and our ability to serve all of our citizens,” said New Bedford Mayor Jon Mitchell. “If the point comes where we feel as though our resources are getting too strained, we’re going to look to the state and federal government for assistance because that is only fair.”
With our own school, municipal and personal budgets tight, is it really "fair" to our kids to take resources from them to give to illegal entrants? Schools have security systems to keep out threats to our children. Now we are being forced to "welcome" them in?
What is the saying about teaching an old dog new tricks? Perennial spoiler candidate Doc Flinn is up to his old tricks. I was lucky to be in the 8th Congressional District in 2010 when Flinn was running in the Republican Primary for Congress. There were three candidates in that race ~which ended up being the most expensive primary that election:~ Stephen Fincher, Ronald Kirkland and George Flinn. I would sometimes get two or three mailers from each candidate in a day. Stephen Fincher won the primary and went on to beat the Democrat for Congress. In 2012, the "good" doc ran in the 9th Congressional District ~after redistricting~ and defeated Charlotte Bergmann in the Republican Primary and then later went down to a smashing defeat to Democrat Steve Cohen. I discovered fraud with Flinn's Primary Petition, but that didn't phase the Establishment Shelby County GOP. They were lured by the "good" doc's money. Even with the "good" doc's money, he still got a lower percentage of the vote than Ms. Bergmann did in 2010.
Now we are in 2014 and guess what; the "good" doc is at it again. This time his "prize" is the US Senate. The problem is; he's not in it to win it. He's in it to spoil it for his buddy Lamar Alexander.
"Flinn’s involvement increases the chances that anti-incumbent voting could be split in a race that has a total of eight candidates. But Flinn says he does not mind being cast as a spoiler.
"'I think we’re going to spoil this whole election,' he said."
Like in 2012 when he entered the race at the last minute, the "good" doc also entered the 2014 race at the last minute.
When Beat Lamar had their first meeting in Memphis in June 2013, the "good" doc was there and taking pics. Here is a pic of him at that event. He then had a meeting with Lamar Alexander right before pulling the petition to run for the Senate.
Fast forward to this week. Talk show host, Laura Ingraham came to Nashville to help Joe Carr. Here is the link to the actual Facebook event. Here is the link to the fake Facebook event for the "good" doc.
Here is a picture of the actual event with Laura Ingraham and Joe Carr.
Here is the logo for the real Beat Lamar group and here is their website:
Here is the logo for the "sponsor" of the fake Flinn event and the website for the fake group.
What is it that they say about imitation being the highest form of flattery? What does it mean that Lamar is feeling the heat from Joe Carr and is needing to get help from his buddy the "good" doc?
Don't be fooled by the "good" doc. Vote for Joe Carr who actually does have a record of being against amnesty and ObamaCare. It's time to tell the "good" doc and his buddy, Lamar, that we are tired of you. Your money might buy you influence with the ruling class, but We the People aren't buying what you are selling anymore.
Update:
Lamar must really be feeling the heat. The latest mailer that I received from the "good" doc is attacking Joe Carr. I wonder what Lamar has promised the "good" doc?
Local TV station WREG posted this question on their FB page, “What new year resolutions would you like to see local politicians make?” As I looked down through the comments there were many that said “retire” “quit lying” and “work for the people who elected them.” One was, “take better care of WE THE PEOPLE.” Some even wanted fiscal responsibility and the impeachment of Obama. While many of these responses are laudable and I agree with, I wondered how many of these commenters were actually holding their elected officials accountable. They seem to think that it is the politicians’ responsibility to be honest and responsible when it is actually the other way around. While it is true that we should seek to elect honest and trustworthy individuals into office, it is up to We the People to make sure that they are once they are elected. Politicians are like everyone else. They must be held accountable. It is up to us to hold them accountable. How many of us attend city council meetings? Attend committee meetings? It is truly an eye opener. The first MLG&W board meeting that I attended was amazing. The way that they ~our employees~ treated Memphis citizens was shocking. Public servants they are not.
Outside Independence Hall when the Constitutional Convention of 1787 ended, Mrs. Powel of Philadelphia asked Benjamin Franklin, "Well, Doctor, what have we got, a republic or a monarchy?" With no hesitation whatsoever, Franklin responded, "A republic, if you can keep it."
It is up to us to keep it. If we want Memphis and our politicians to change, it is up to us to be informed and hold them accountable. Don't be satisfied with what they tell you when they want your vote. Be informed throughout the process. An example of this is TN Senator Lamar Alexander on the recent budget "deal" that cuts pensions for disabled veterans and negates the slight sequestration savings. Lamar Alexander is up for reelection this year, so he dutifully voted against it. The real vote however was for cloture, which he voted for. So in essence, he can technically say in his campaign ads that he voted against the bill, but the rest of the story is that if he wouldn't have voted for cloture on the bill, ~along with some other wimpy Republicans~ it would not have made it to the vote for passage.
You would be amazed at what one person can accomplish. That citizen must be informed and pro-active in the political process. One of the popular quotes that we see around the start a new year is “You must be the change you wish to see in the world” by Gandhi. We must apply this to the political process as well. 2014 is a big year. Are you going to be the change that you want to see in Memphis or wherever you live?
If you really want to know how to effectively engage and be proactive, go to the Center for Self Governance. Their training is invaluable to the citizen activist. Don’t just leave your future and the future of your kids and grandkids to nameless politicians. It’s up to us to keep our Republic. I don’t know about you, but their future is worth it.
The question isn’t how our politicians are going to change, it’s how are we going to effect change in our politicians.
A friend of mine, Rhonda O'Dell, lives in Millington, TN and she is concerned about the path and direction that her city leaders are taking ~specifically the budget and raising property taxes~. She is doing what she learned in Civics 101 and is paying attention to what those in government are doing, asking questions of her elected officials and holding them accountable for their actions. She is running into the same attitude that we as a nation are experiencing on a national level. It is yet another example of how our elected officials ~who are really our employees~ are treating "We the People" like peasants.
She is trying to shine the light of truth and wake up her fellow Millington citizens. Here is what she posted on her Facebook page:
I want the citizens of Millington to
understand 2 important issues and I will TRY and not get "deep in the
weeds" and confuse you.
1. The NEW CHARTER totally changed
what you know as normal. This budget is NOT THE MAYOR’S - it is the City
Manager’s. It takes four Aldermen on three readings (votes) to approve the
budget and tax rate.
2. The only way our elected
leadership can directs or tell the City Manager what to do is by
resolution/ordinance at an official meeting with four aldermen voting yes.
The system that is set up can be a TRAIN
WRECK if/when you have a City Manager that is totally out of sync with the
direction most of us want. AND IF WE AS CITIZENS DON'T LIKE HIS ATTITUDE, his
INCOMPETENCE or leadership we have to convince 5 aldermen to vote him out. Once
he is in - it is close to impossible to get him out; although the last few
cities found a way to FIRE HIM.
The City Manager AND the Charter is a
major obstacle right now. I have researched tonight NUMEROUS lawsuits that he
(our city manager) is/was either named in or mentioned that his incompetence -
or unauthorized actions caused the lawsuits.
The city manager lives in a HOTEL. He
doesn't pay the property tax he just raised on us AND he doesn't pay our
hotel-motel tax either. He fired an employee for violating the residency
requirement in another city yet he tramples on the true intention of our city
manager residency requirement.
His blatant disrespect of our elected
officials AND citizens (me personally - with an email) demonstrates his leadership
- well actually total lack thereof and the culture he has created is WORSE than
anything I've seen in my 20+ years of living here.
THANK GOD THE CITY MANAGER DOESN'T HAVE
CRAP TO DO WITH OUR SCHOOL SYSTEM OR ITS BUDGET!!! Mainly because in a past
city he didn't want to budget $10,000 for crossing guards. Do a google search -
you will not be happy!!
And you can thank our past mayor Carter
and her HR Director that pushed him & hid this... The same people that gave
the illegal - unauthorized raises with the help of our CURRENT FINANCE
DIRECTOR!!!!
I have documents to back all of this up
(and more) if you want to see it - let me know. 496-1955.
I have FULLY expressed my feelings about
the City Manager especially after he forwarded an email I sent him encouraging
the Mayor, Alderman and him to look at other areas to cut in the budget. He
forwarded that email to the directors involved AND ENCOURAGED THEM TO FORWARD
IT TO EMPLOYEES. What a great culture to encourage productivity,
professionalism and ethics because the CM didn't cc me on that email. I DON'T
THROW A ROCK AND HIDE MY HAND - you know exactly where you stand with me - that
is why the CM received my email in the first place.
When you say convince them to fire him -
I can't convince them to discipline him - much less send me an apology. 2 or 3
replied via email the next day but NOTHING since then. Alderman McGhee actually
replied that he doesn't communicate via email (first time he ever replied to my
many emails) BUT he never called to discuss or meet me regard the CM's
insubordination. Then during Thursday nights meeting he has the nerve to reply
to Lisa's comment that they (ald) don't even reply to ME he says he wants to
hear from Ms. O'Dell .... The citizens not knowing the background would say..
Aww he's a pastor and he is so sincere. I say GIVE ME A BREAK!
They have a lot going on with the budget
and they NEVER figured out the CM is causing more problems than they could fix
meeting every night.
I AM READY FOR LEADERSHIP not keeping
quiet because it’s not politically correct to openly deal with these issues
because AGAIN they have to direct his actions via a Resolution or ordinance.
If someone doesn’t plug the hole, all
the people running around saying we can't afford our schools will see their
CITY (not school system) receiving a letter from the State just like Memphis.
I've said it before and I'll say it again, WE DON'T HAVE A REVENUE PROBLEM - WE
HAVE SPENDING PROBLEMS!
AND WE DON'T HAVE A PLAN FOR ANYTHING...
I actually LOL we I remember the CM told everyone how great he is with a
strategic plan and he says, “well I'm not familiar with Millington's culture,
history, or direction the people want to go so I can't give you a plan (as you
requested) so I’ll just tell you how great I can do a plan.” I call BS. He is
(by his actions) planning our future and I don't agree with his direction.
And using the only budget I had access
to - I cut the heck out of the budget and via a PLAN I can restructure and
streamline several areas. By the time I had access via the website the BMA had
one budget hearing (citizens can't speak) and then the public hearing 5 minutes
before they amended the budget and approved it.
I keep complaining how exactly does this
work well for the citizens? I keep saying ‘Sunshine’ a citizen budget meeting -
let us sit at the table and show all seven aldermen at the same time what we
want. I don't have time to meet with all seven aldermen in a few days and get
my point across.
If you live in Millington, please get involved and contact Rhonda. She has left her phone number for you to do so. Even if you don't live in Millington, please get involved in your local community government ~and state and national~ and find out what they are doing. Every citizen needs to experience your local bodies of government and your elected officials spending your TaxPayer Money ~TPM~ and see how they treat those that pay for their salaries and provide the funds for what they are funding.
I’m having waaay too much fun on Steve Cohen’s Facebook page. Some of “his” supporters are such intellectuals and so very clever. Here are some examples:
Supporter #1: "If Republicans really believed this health care bill isn't going to reduce cost to all of us, then WHY did they exempt it from one of their new rules?
"The new rules also would streamline the process for repealing the new health care law by exempting the repeal bill from budget requirements.
"The Rule:
"...only spending cuts can be used to offset spending increases-a "cut as you go'' rule that takes tax increases off the table. It also allows taxes to be cut even if their cost isn't covered by spending reductions."
"I love how there's a principal here, but um, NO, not really. How ridiculous. Republicans don't even believe in this principle, so it's just a stupid idea altogether, and proves that the they believe the health care bill is going to reduce costs, too.
"Cutting taxes is SUCH a dumb idea right now. Most people agree with that...even the wealthy - which I am not. IF taxes are cut, Congress won't be scoring any points in this household. I'll just think they're stupid - my elementary students can do better math. Oh, and those taxes help pay for their education. We are the only country in the world that complains about having to make ourselves smarter. (???"
Me: "If cutting taxes is such a dumb idea then why did BO fold and keep the Bush tax cuts ~reduced taxes from Dem Bill Clinton's rates~ and Lawrence Summers warn of a double dip recession if taxes went up at the beginning of 2011? http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2010/12/08/summers-warns-of-double-dip-recession-without-tax-package/
History shows that lowering taxes increases revenues. The Fed government's problem is not an receipts problem, it's a spending problem. Even BO admitted in his debate in 2008 that he wants to raise taxes for "fairness."
"If you want to send in more money to the government, go ahead, but don't reach your hand into my pocket and confiscate more of mine."
Then comes this reply from an intellectual named “Clobber a Tea Bagger: "I do believe our President (Obama) addressed your question. It's called holding the poor and middle class hostage. Certainly the tax cuts for the top 1% is a loose-loose situation for the Country. If you consider Lawrence Sum...mers an expert on the American economy I recommend you seek serious economist. As for Clinton we had a much more robust economy which lead to his decision. What we have now is a complete debacle of the 8 years of the Bush Administration and policies. Brenda you sound like somewhat bright person, please consider doing a little more research. I am a firm believer with logic comes knowledge. Please don't reply as I refuse to argue with illogical individual"
My response: "Clobber, I wish I was as original and clever as you. I don't consider Summers an expert, but apparently BO does as he's the head of his economic team. So you agree that raising taxes slows down an economy? Oh, that's right, You won't be reading this. Well, just in case, spell check is your friend. Have a Great Day!"
Here’s another: Supporter #2: "Watching C-span right now, When i hear the right wingers talking about employers being forced to provide insurance for employees that some bureaucrat has to approve, I hear them saying "that we can't just whip up some **** and call it insurance but have to meet some standard for insurance."‘
Supporter #3: "I wish people could see the good in eachother, then we could get along. Steve you sure do give it your all!!! I hope you can get through to these people who need to hear the truth!!" Why can’t we all just get along?????????
Supporter #4: "Thank you Rep. Cohen for reminding people that the new healthcare legislation is a good idea. Thank you."
Supporter #5: "I've been saying this all along about this fringe party, thanks for being the first brave voice!"
Supporter #6: "You are a hero! Telling it how it is...the right wing and TP are brownshirts waiting to wear black shirts with yellow arm bands. Just saw you again on CNN...just awesome!"
Supporter #7: "I wrote my masters thesis on Nazi propaganda, and Mr. Cohen is correct that the republican rhetorical tactics are very similar to those used by Goebbels.
"Unfortunately, most seem to be saying that the congressman is comparing the republicans to Nazis, which is not the case. He is comparing the two types of political rhetoric."
Midsouth TeaParty: "Government Ruined Health Care versus Citizen Controlled Health Care?
"Or maybe there are some 'D.C. ELITES' who believe THEY can decide what's best for 90% of us...
"Take your money...Spend your money for you...then tell you what to do after THEY spent if for you...THANK YOU SIR MAY I HAVE ANOTHER"
To which another bright supporter replied: Why are people with educations and doing well for themselves called "elites" or "elitists"? It's like you want to hate them for being educated. As if being educated and being comfortable is a bad thing."
My reply: "Being an "elitist" has nothing to do with being educated or being comfortable. It's an attitude of 'I know better than you' and 'You are too stupid to make your own decisions.' Maybe you would understand the term 'ruling class' better; it's a synonym. It describes liberals like Steve Cohen to a T. He doesn’t respect people; he looks down on us “average” Americans. We’re seen as someone who needs someone smarter ~like him~ to think for us and make decisions for us. No Thank You! I don’t need a bureaucrat in some government office telling me how to run my life or what medical procedures I need or that they will pay for. I believe you have the same ability."
This same bright ~and apprently elitist~ supporter answered with this: "I am better than you. Period. I have enough confidence in myself to know that. I'm an American. I am better than most people worldwide. You will NEVER find me calling myself "average"! I consider myself to be well above average. I respect you as a fellow citizen, and I would HOPE you would find yourself to be better than status quo too, but clearly you don't. You just said you're personally "hovering above sub par"-- it's a synonym (ha!)... for "average". You are what you say you are so hear me say: I. AM. AWESOME-- AND IN AN ELITE CLASS of American citizens! I wil never be told what to do. Slavery is over. I choose to let civility rule. And civil countries take care of their own so that united we thrive in thought, actions. We've spent the last 2 years fighting over dumb s**t like, 'Should we take care of our health'? Elite people have other things to do. Let's move on..."
My reply to the elitist: "@elitist: I am in awe of your brilliance and superior intellect. I am unworthy to be in the presence of such greatness. /sarc
"Actually, your reading comprehension could use some sharpening. I never said that I considered myself “average;” I was explaining to you the term “elitist.” Thank you for illustrating my point so eloquently.
"Oh and about “I will never be told what to do” and “slavery is over;” you should use your awesome intellect to ponder the 2000+ pages of the Obamacare bill. You will find that it’s all about government control. For starters, you are mandated to buy health insurance ~health insurance that the government deems suitable for you.~ See if you can find the 2 dozen new/or higher taxes in the bill. Have a Great Day!"
The same supporter who didn’t know what “elitists” were had these words of encouragement for Mr. Cohen: "You're from Memphis. Shake the haters off. :) I saw you in a commercial for now-governor Christie in NJ last year when I was living in NYC. I loved the way you ripped him a new one when he was testifiying"
And then there’s this jewel: "First of all, thank you for serving your constituents and our nation in the the United States House of Representatives. You must have made many personal sacrifices in order to fulfill the duties of your office. I respect your passion for public service and your loyalty to the nation.
"As you are well aware, Congressman..., the need for civility in public discourse today is critical. With respect, you should apologize to your Republican colleagues for the comparison to Joseph Goebbels and the Holocaust. Such rhetoric does not help the cause of affordable health care for all Americans, it does not help the cause of the Democratic party, and it certainly does not help the cause of the nation. The American people are weary of bitter partisan recriminations. I urge you to set a higher, more dignified and civil tone. Today, the best thing you can do for your constituents and your country is to offer an apology and set a new tone of civility."
Well, Pelosi lapdog Steve Cohen has struck again. He's comparing Republicans to Nazi'a See Here.
As my friend JRD at honeytrail states, "All liberals have control issues." Mr. Cohen has major control issues; he want's to control us. Sorry Mr. Cohen, but we are freedom loving Americans and we don't want or need D.C. pols to control us.
I am a happy Tennessean! As a resident of TN-8, I am pleased that we replaced Demonrat Tanner with Republican Stephen Fincher. I was afraid that Independent Donn Janes would split the conservative/republican vote and get Demonrat Herron elected, but I think there were many of his “supporters” that decided not to be purists and risk electing a Demonrat.
I am disappointed ~but not surprised~ that Pelosi lap dog Cohen wasn’t defeated in TN-9, but he’s definitely been neutered. I knew that Charlotte Bergmann was a long shot, but I was hoping for a miracle. People who live off the taxpayers should not be able to vote themselves a raise.
Tennessee was one of the governorships that flipped from Demonrat to Republican. I hope that Bill Haslam will do Tennessee proud.
All in all a great night for Tennessee and the country.